What volumes when recording guitars?

May 12, 2005
Sweden
www.egonaut.se
Here's a question that's been gnawing me for a while.
When recording guitars, what volumes do you run the amp at?
As I understand there are two different ways to do it; either letting the amp work hard by cranking it up loud or work record with the volume almost at speech level.

Which do you prefer/use and why?

Fredrik-Ablaze said:
Here's a question that's been gnawing me for a while.
When recording guitars, what volumes do you run the amp at?
As I understand there are two different ways to do it; either letting the amp work hard by cranking it up loud or work record with the volume almost at speech level.

Which do you prefer/use and why?

I'm not an expert, but from what I know, amps are cranked in the studio, because the louder they are the more the tube-sound comes in.

I run a rack so I've always got my power amp cranked, but when I'm recording I set the preamp level to whatever level get's the sound I'm after.

I usually have to run it very LOUD as the speakers in my cab take a lot of pushing before they 'move'.

Turn up to 6, it will sound great. ;)

In my (admittedly limited) experience, I've found that you typically can turn the amp up so that it's at a pretty healthy volume, but there's no reason to go overboard. As long as you can hear the full character of the amp in question, it should be more than sufficient level for recording. I don't know if it's possible to be more specific - if it sounds good, it is good!

All this being said, my version of "healthy" might be other people's version of "eardrum splitting," so this is all very subjective...

Kazrog said:
As long as you can hear the full character of the amp in question, it should be more than sufficient level for recording. I don't know if it's possible to be more specific - if it sounds good, it is good!