what's your favorite snare head?

HvO

Sep 25, 2009
So, what's your favorite snare head? And why?

I have a Remo Ambassador on my 14" Maple Snare (SONOR 3007 14" X5, 5 ") and I
am not sure if that is the right choice.

You're doing just fine.

And for what it's worth, I bought my drummer an Evans EC reverse dot, just to make it look cool. I don't mind the tone, it's got a nice punch to it. I do prefer a lot of pop with a lot of thud to my snare sound, though. The EC just doesn't do that.

Not a massive fan of ambassadors myself. Single ply and no muting=ring city. Though the ambassador with the reverse dot (controlled sound?) is ok.

I'm really into the Evans Genera Dry. Every time I do live sound for a drummer who has one of those heads the snare sounds great. Remo Powerstroke is also good.

hm, ok. I will test the CS!

and I found this Head to Head Comparison:

Last edited by a moderator:
The controlled sound is just an ambassador (10 mil) with a 5 mil reverse dot. It has a bit more 'focus' and durability than the regular ambassador, but you can hear in that clip you posted that they sound similar. I like them. Play with the tuning of your snare, and make sure you get some moon gel. That stuff is amazing.

And a general tidbit, I've read some interviews with the 'drum doctor' from LA, and I've talked to a couple engineers from LA who use them all the time and have recorded world class drummers with their setups. (Josh Freese, Vinnie Colaiuta, Greg Bissonette, etc) And 98% of the time, the heads they use are Remo coated Ambassadors on the toms, Coated ambassadors or controlled sounds on the snare, and Powerstroke 3's on the kick. A very large amount of LA session drummers use this type of setup.

Now this might not translate the best into the metal world though, where a lot of people like the attack of clear heads, and prefer them to be a little thicker with less ring, like an Emperor or Pinstripe.

Oh I didnt mention.