What's Your Philosophical Background?

derbeder

in a vicious circle
Jan 22, 2006
lost
What areas of philosophy are you interested in? What have read or are planning to read in these areas? Having some sort of idea about where people are coming from may be of help to everyone. Hopefully this will facilitate more detailed and interesting discussions.

Well, I like classical philosophy (which kind of covers everything), and dont care for this split of genres or areas that occurred after the renaissance.

i thought this sort of thread would spark some sort of discussion ("oh, this person is into these things, why don't we talk a little about that?" sort of thing to start with). but not everyone seems intent on contributing. oh well...

I am concerned primarily with "continental" thought, although I have some degree of familiarity with the analytic tradition. Currently, I am studying under a student of Derrida's, so this should indicate how I lean ;). Although, last year I worked with an analytic prof. (a former student of Van Fraassen at Princeton; derbeder probably knows of the latter, especially on the realism/anti-realism issue) in logic, philosophy of science, and a small bit of philosophy of mind.

My constitutional focus is on the crossroads of Heidegger, "deconstruction", psychoanalysis, and what I hesitate to call natural science, but to keep it simple, I'm concerned with thinking.

perhaps we can have a thread on derrida. i'm more familiar with his earlier writings speech and phenomena, introduction to husserl's "the origin of geometry", and limited inc. since the former two are close commmentaries on husserl, i had an easier time seeing what's going on. i'll try to reread these sometime soon.