When Day Descends - Transcending Expectations

circus_brimstone

Forest: Sold Out
Jul 5, 2003
Indiana
wdd.gif
By Jason Jordan

Dave Caswell, who are you?

I’m a guitarist from Tasmania, Australia who is the sole member of an instrumental atmospheric progressive metal project.

Why is When Day Descends a one-man deal? In other words, why didn’t other musicians contribute to Transcend, and is that a possibility for the future?

I have recently come to the conclusion that a band works best when it’s under a single guiding vision. In almost all my favourite bands, I can pinpoint a single member who defines the band. So I like the idea of being creatively completely in control of a project, but to make sure all aspects of the vision are perfect you really need other people involved. I’m certainly no expert drummer, and I can’t sing, but for this first album the numerous people involved along the way were either too busy or not suitable, so I ended up doing the album myself.

I’ve been working with a vocalist for a future album and I would love to get a real drummer in there, but I’m not sure I ever want it to be a “full” band.

What disease, if you had to choose one, would you like to see ravage your body mercilessly?

I’ve had the sniffles for a few weeks now and that’s annoyed me enough, so no diseases thanks!

So we know quite a lot about Transcend. What are Ascension and Descendant?

Ascension is a single 40-minute track that’s neither prog nor metal. Think Dargaard or orchestrated film-score music, but a bit more personal, purely instrumental and driven by a single acoustic guitar playing slow progressions similar to “Disposable” from Transcend. It is already written, but when it is recorded and released remains to be seen.