Why does my mix sounds so.. Different?

adriencreator

New Metal Member
Dec 12, 2011
I'm fine with what I do since I'm just a local recording artist here.. But I just can't get my mixes to get that signature production level sound.. :// If you would please click the bandpage link on this facebook page and listen to the song and help me identify where the problem is, and what I can do about it?
I really don't want technicalities, but it just seems like most people can lay down a mix and it sounds fine from there, and they just need to put some final touches on it, but I can't.. Not sure what to do..
http://www.facebook.com/ohcreator
Any help would be appreciated.. I want to tackle this.
Here's what I hear.. I think it just sounds so congested. Maybe too much you know? I wonder if it's in the fact that I have two guitars layered on both sides, so four guitar layers total. Not sure....
Make sure you check out the song at the top of the list, it's the most recently mixed/mastered one, however the second one has the same exact problem.. :p

If compression is a problem I have the dynamics amount level in Ozone 5 up a pretty hefty amount. I'll try taking it down.

maybe try turning off the dynamics on the ozone itself and add an ssl comp. that is if you have it... i hate the dynamics in ozone.

I think the dynamics in ozone arent bad, but they can screw up a lot of things it seems and just sound awful sometimes.. And iarebrandon how should I work on my vocals? I've always been at sort of a loss with those?