Wrist/Hand problems

Travis

Bassist
Jan 2, 2006
Near Albany, NY
www.myspace.com
Carpal Tunnel, Tendinitis, Repetitive Strain Injury, anything that gives you trouble or pain...post your experiences, remedies or whatever here.

A little over three weeks ago, I did a recording session playing bass for a few friends of mine (John Longstreth among them). It was pretty intense and I pushed myself pretty hard...ever since, I've been noticing slight pain in both wrists, especially my right one. While it is very minor, it hasn't gone away at all.

Upon realizing this, I started researching and treating it more seriously. I bought a wrist brace, have been icing it every few hours for 10 minutes, taking 800mg of ibuprofen every 8 hours, and doing various wrist/hand stretches every few hours. Haven't touched an instrument in 3 days now.

That sucks, I hope it gets better for you. Sounds like an overuse injury to me but I'm no expert, I had a dull aching pain in one of my wrists after not warming up for an intense session but it went away about a week later.

Won't help with yours but here is my story: