Yamaha RBX375 pickup upgrade

HOFX

Apr 12, 2012
Hey, has anyone here changed over pickups in an RBX375?

I've never done pickup change over myself, but I just bought one of these and although I like the feel of it, it sounds like poo and can't get it to as well as my 4 string P bass.

I understand it requires jazz bass style pickups and I'm looking at either these in 5 string (http://www.delano.de) or a pair of EMG DCs. I haven't looked into the actual dimensions of the pickups and the current ones in the guitar, but was hoping I could get someone's previous experience in this?

The RBX375's I've seen definitely don't have jazz pups. Talkbass seems to think the DC45 is the right size but I have no experience so take it with a grain of salt. EMG's will sound like EMG's. The delanos sbc's are supposedly (I haven't used them) an ultra hi-fi passive that resembles the frequency response of the EMG but with less agression and compression (some say less brittle). In either case I'd personally be a little reticent to drop $200-300 pickup sets into a $300 bass but if it sounds good then it's probably worth it.
Not to ask the obvious, but have you thrown new strings on yet?

I'll try new strings, but to give you more back ground, I bought the bass from the Allan's music liquidation the other day because I was in the market for a 5 string and it had some good reviews. But, given that the bass is still on the strings it came with, when I set the EQ up for the B/E string to sound good, the D/G string sound as though they're from a completely different guitar.

A nice solid bassy sound on the B/E string make the D/G string sound muffled. A nice treble/rounded sound on the D/G string make the B/E string sound hollow and trebly. My thinking is that the strings have aged the same (as in, the B/E string aren't newer than the D/G) and that, being a lower model guitar where costs are saved on electronics, that improving on the electronics would yield the greatest value.