Your iPod EQ Settings?

Perishh

May 1, 2010
Brisbane AU
Was listening to the new Veil of Maya at the gym today and the guitars were sounding like dog shit. I thought that there must be something wrong with my EQ settings because the earphones I have are quite good.

I checked my EQ and I had it on "Loudness" so I started playing with all the different settings and found that "Acoustic" was sounding really good for my headphone mix. Granted Veil of Maya have never been renowned for good guitar tones, but it helped and transferred across a few other album mixes really well. Going back to loudness now sounds so terrible for all albums.

What settings do you guys keep your iPod headphones on where you feel it gives you the best mix?

Off, they have always been totally garbage.

On very very few occasions I have boosted bass (myself if possible) because of headphones/headset desperately lacking bass, but usually nowhere as much as the "bass boost" settings in an iPod !

On another note : throw your iPod away, buy Archos / Creative or stuff like that, and shit bricks :)

(I have a 40Gb Archos that still works after 7 years of use, and its DA conversion is comparable to mid end soundcards like a profire or so)

I have it on "Lounge", it boosts the mids and gets rid of some of the midhigh piercing that the iPod earphones have. I should get better earphones but I like the controls on the iPod ones.

I have it on "Lounge", it boosts the mids and gets rid of some of the midhigh piercing that the iPod earphones have. I should get better earphones but I like the controls on the iPod ones.

I use blackberry headphones, the ones that come with the newest ones. Totally stole them from my whole family, they sound soooo much better than the iphone ones, and have the button/mic for handsfree, pause/play, next track etc. The only thing they don´t have is volume control, but that doesn´t bother me.