5150 tubescreamer

tides

Jun 30, 2009
BE
www.myspace.com
I'm no newbie to the TS, and don't want to start any discussion on Ibanez/Maxon/...

I just want to know from the 5150 owners here; is your tubescreamer really worth it? Is it a great improvement in sound (balls-to-the-wall metal), or does it just add some detail to your sound?

I have to make some hard choices between FX, (MXR 10-band EQ, ISP Decimator, ...) so I'd be happy to take some advice from you guys.

The $40 Ibanez TS7 is identical to the TS9 (well, it has the same op-amp, and JBroll here says they're identical PCB's, Lasse disagrees ;)), but more importantly, I love mine! :)

The $40 Ibanez TS7 is identical to the TS9 (well, it has the same op-amp, and JBroll here says they're identical PCB's, Lasse disagrees ;)), but more importantly, I love mine! :)

nah, I completely agree with JBroll that it's the exact same circuit...I'm just saying the TS-7 used different components and hence sounds a bit different......
to settle this once and for all I'll take some gutshots and samples of both, that'll clear things ;).

but yes, the TS-7 is great and will suffice...
acoustically the difference it that the ts-9 sounds a bit more open and 3d, the ts-7 a bit "thicker" with less detailed high end.

I've modded both to 808 specs btw, the above described differences describe the sound after that mod, before I modded them they sounded even much more different....originally the TS-7 came with a 4558 chip, the TS-9 didn't (they're using TA75558 in the RI ones. the early ones have random chips in them).
The PCB is indeed quite different, the TS9 uses boards designed for the TS-9, the TS-7 used multible purpose boards.

but as I said, JBroll is right, the schematics are the same.....

here's a great read btw:
http://www.analogman.com/tshist.htm