A guide/FAQ for programming drums?

migreeni

Dismember
Nov 27, 2005
Finland
www.malummeh.com
I really need some serious help with this one... Please could you help me out with drum programming? From top to bottom, samples, different programs, MIDI shit, mixing them etc.

Kick and Snare I usually keep at same velocity (127)

except for blast beats. where I lower it to about 110ish and the randomise 107,105,112,105 etc. Aswell as slightly moving to the timing of each hit.

Crashes I generally lower them to about 120...and then raised certain hits to 127 where the drummer would smash the crash harder.

Hi hats are rides I generally have around 80 ish and generally have the hits louder on the downbeat where a drummer naturally hits harder.

I'm still learning though.

I use the Sonar Kit with the Pearl 3 Snare and the DW 22" (with a Tama kick sample I got off here like 2 years ago or something).

An excellent guide would be to download the "Sonar of Metal" Project from Toontrack is you use DFHS. I don't like that snare or kick but everything else is about right.

i tend to do the same sort of thing that dreamcatcher mentioned - i'll usually drag/drop some EZD loops onto my projects, then manually edit the MIDI from there to fit what i'm doing

just remember...the biggest thing when it comes to getting realism in MIDI drums is to a)switch up velocities, and b)don't program more simultaneous hits than a drummer has hands/feet

i noticed some loops in EZD have the drummer hitting the hat, snare, and some sort of cymbal all at the same time, so 1 of them has to get deleted. i guess technically the closed hats could come from the foot...but not if there's a double-bass pattern happening simultaneously.

I've got the Drumkit from Hell. And a new problem with it: