Fake drum workflow

Sloan

Sounds like shit!
Oct 22, 2006
Atlanta, GA
www.sloanstewart.com
Dudes. I hate programming drums, but I need to get in the habit of doing it more often for songwriting purposes, preproduction etc...

I use Reaper and free drum machines/samples; using the midi shit to manually click in hits for a basic groove and then copypasta it around and change different parts for each section of the tune. then i go through and adjust velocity by hand if need be. it's time consuming and pisses me off, which in turn keeps me from dedicating the time to adding drums to my riffz. lame.

If you guys could share how you go about creating your faek drum tracks, that would be killer!

Guitar Pro 5 for the basics and then into cubase 5 ; I load the midi track and re-arrange the velocities and add more cymbals, it happens that I've been tabbing and writing music in Guitar Pro since 2004 so I know my Midi mapping and the SD 2.0 mapping so it goes uber fast for me to bring out a quality drum machine, I then export kick,snare,hh,toms,oh,room,oh drummer separately then to pro tools for processing :)

i used to tab my stuff in guitar pro when i first started but i realized its much easier and beneficial to do it all in piano roll IMO. Once you get quick with control+c control+v for copying and pasting its like nothing to program drums. Just keep working on it.

i used to tab my stuff in guitar pro when i first started but i realized its much easier and beneficial to do it all in piano roll IMO. Once you get quick with control+c control+v for copying and pasting its like nothing to program drums. Just keep working on it.