Recording with Drum Triggers

ElektricEyez

Aug 29, 2007
I have no experience what-so-ever using drum triggers. But I was contemplating on the thought of using them, because drummers are so inconsistent with their playing velocity. So when you go to use a replacement VST trigger, such as ApTrigga, you end up getting false triggers because the drummer hits the snare like a wussy and bleed from other drums is louder than the snare hit. So then I end up raising the threshold of the trigger and go through the entire song and find the wussy hits and increase the gain so that the trigger responds properly.

I was thinking if I triggered just the kick and the snare, that would help with the issue is this correct or do you end up with other problems such as double triggering?

Also, Would I need a brain to record with triggers or can I just use a trigger like ddrum and use the 1/4 cable (or XLR depending on the model of Ddrum) to connect directly into my Firepod to capture the transients and later sound replace using Aptrigga?

The problems you describe are very real, but there is a easy fix for this, albeit a little labour intensive.

I dont know if ApTrigga can do this, but Drumagog can send and recieve midi signals.

This is what I do (assuming that the drum tracks have already been recorded):

1. Insert Drumagog on the track, lets say a snare track
2. Fiddle around with the sensitivity until its pretty good
3. Set Drumagog to send midi
4. Create a midi track and select Drumagog as the input
5. Arm the midi track for recording
6. Press record and let it go through the whole song

Now you should have a nice miditrack with all the information that Drumagog picks up.

If you also use Drumagog for the new snare sample you want to use then set Drumagog to recieve midi
and select Drumagog as the output on your miditrack. Remember to turn of the Send Midi feature in Drumagog
or remove Drumagog as the input on the miditrack.