A lot of Aussies here

Ethereal Sage

Mind Of Out Sight Of Out
Dec 30, 2001
In a cacoon
Visit site
I've noticed quite a few 'Aussies' in this forum. Are we Opeth-loving Aussies few and far between?
I've known personally of very few people anywhere (none here in Brisvegas) that even mention the band, until I entered this board. Is it the same in other parts of Oz, or do I just not get out enough?:D

Well im down in Tassie, but i know heaps of Opeth people. Ive converted most of my friends. ALL of them have heard Opeth and appreciate that they are brilliant (some obviously dont like the growls, while others are into different music styles altogether). And have met quite a few other people who like Opeth. Through my new band ive met a few other Opeth fans, and i was actually contacted out of a phone book for this band because the guy heard i was a good guitarist and liked Opeth. And one of my internet friends just had a boyfriend who was into Opeth (she wasnt into metal at all, so it was quite suprising when she told me). And ive seen Opeth t-shirts on people around here. Theres always at least 1 Opeth CD in our main CD stores (we only have shitty commercial stores here.. metal section is about 100 CDs max).

So yeh Opeth fans are definitely around if you look for them!

Thank-firetruckin'-God! I'm not alone!:D

As I think mentioned in an earlier thread, we should wear an identifing icon or something similar, or maybe a greeting..."I'm on my way to Blackwater Park.." maybe?:D

I guess that not being in the city every day mingling with the metal shirt-wearing citizens doesn't help much, but Opeth being what I would regard as an 'aquired taste', and not a 'mainstream' band, most people wouldn't know Opeth from a frog in a sock ;)

Luckily, I was introduced to this forum by the only other person I know who likes Opeth, my younger bro (Spike on this forum, I introduced him to them.) :D :D :D