A question for the bassists out there.

Burning Darkness

Go fuck yourself
Mar 17, 2002
New York
Visit site
I'm just beginning to play bass, and I have a little experience on guitar but I've never had any lessons or anything. What are some songs to practice playing in order to build up technique on the bass?

Burning Darkness said:
I'm just beginning to play bass, and I have a little experience on guitar but I've never had any lessons or anything. What are some songs to practice playing in order to build up technique on the bass?

Well that all depends on the Tech your aiming for I Started out with Iron Maiden Fourtunes of War its an awsome song to learn I would suggest that one :) and like OverKill Powersurge Both are fairly easy to learn and are fun as hell Good Luck and Have fun!

Burning Darkness said:
Some easy stuff is For whom the bell tolls(Duhh!!). Only for the weak by In Flames is really easy. Some Maiden song will be good for developing speed and tecnique. Ty hallowed be thy name, aces high, the trooper etc.

The first song I ever figured out myself on bass was Dawn Patrol on Megadeth. For Whom the Bell Tolls is excellent to start with though, it's easy and gets you familiar with the bottom and top of the neck. And how to use a wah with distortion too, because that is rather important. :tickled:

Advice: don't use transcriptions or tab *shudder*, figure it out yourself.

hm...
parliament's flashlight can show ya how a simple line that isn't hard at all can be the base for a song and become extremely popular, ya know what i mean
uhm...money by pink floyd will stretch you out for a beginner
not that big of a metal bass player
and any rage against the machine song...for starting out...try guerilla(sic) radio, thats the first song i learned how to play