A question for the very best double bass players....

T.G.I.S

New Metal Member
Jul 2, 2003
Alright i have a question for anyone who can help me out on a double bass problem..

well u see, i started practicing double bass with using my left foot to kick first, and by practicing that way ive progressed to be able to do alot of double bass beats, but ive seen on videos and have heard that u should kick first with the right, i found this out after really gettin used to the double bass using my left foot first, now the question is, i dont know weather to kick with my left foot first and keep practice with that since im already used to it, or should i just start using the right to kick first, and try to forget everything i learned using my left first becuase i know this will help me be able to do crazy double bass beats easier, but im also afriad that if i start to switch over to use my right kick first that i might mess everything up and get all confused about how to do double bass beats becuase im so used to kicking with the left first. if anyone could help me out who would know what to do, it would help very very much, thanks

Well, Im not a drummer, but I know Vinnie Paul (Pantera) starts double bass patterns with his left foot too. I think he said that he started doing it that way cause when he was in marching band in high school you always step with your left foot first. And hes a PHENOMINAL double bass player. So I'd think if it ain't broke dont fix it ;)

BTW, it might be good to learn how to do it starting with your right foot first too. I know Scott Travis (Racer X, Judas Priest) has said that he practices patterns starting with both hands/feet a lot just so he can start any pattern at any time, regardless of what hand/foot leads.

well that makes me feel alot better hearing about vinnie paul, i guess ill just focus on the left and work on the right everyonce in a while to build it up, but thanks for the help