A work-in-progress Wargods solo tab

Jacob Kjær

has been in you.
Apr 3, 2008
Denmark
Hey all,

Tomorrow I have chemistry lessons at my university (though I am a software engineering student), and I should be reading up for it right now. But, of course I have been busy tabbing instead, because of the wonderful structured procrastination caused by homework brings can make any student unwillingly productive with anything else than he's supposed to do.
I bet that I would be coding computer games right now if I were to tab as an exercise for a musical education!

I have allways started out with the hard parts, but this time I started out with the easiest, which ended up leading to a few of the hard parts completed. And of course, halving the tempo and (and thereby also pitch frequency) of a solo has allways done wonders. I know it's cheating, but Yngwie did it too with Paganini vinyls (probably by hand though, which makes it more acceptable, but anyway... :p).

Here's what's missing:
  • Fingerings + arpeggiation techniques.
  • Shawn-lane-ish laser arpeggios. Probably not ever going to be tabbed by me, and if it happens I don't know if I should release it.
  • Arpeggio note-for-note confirmation.
  • A few rhythmic insecurities in the slower parts, noted in the tab.
  • I just noticed while writing this post that I forgot to downtune the lead guitar in Guitar Pro, so the lead tab is in E while the rhythm is in C#. Ooops. I might actually keep it for now because I don't usually have my guitar tuned in C# anyway.
  • The arpeggios have uniform note-lenghts, but in reality Kristian does a lot of phrasing (I think it is called...) in between the beats.

WARNING: If you wanna improve your ear, Kristian suggests that you give this a go yourself.

Download, GP5: Click!
Download, PDF: Click!

Have fun, and good night from me for today!

Jacob.