Acoustic foam treatment

Nebulous

Daniel
Dec 14, 2003
Brookfield, VIC, Australia
Hey guys.
I'm new to this particular forum, i now visit regularly as im studying Audio Engineering with Moonlapse.
Now my thread is about treating studios- namely controll rooms, with foam to aid acoustics. I will eventually have some diffusion and insulation happening because i know it works, what i haven't heard much about is foam "speaker stands", which are designed to seperate monitors from a desk and provide more natural response.
This does sound appealing, but since most people who listen to music dont have that sort of "natural response", so we as sound engineers need/ want it?

All help/ opinions appreciated, especialy if you stop me from wasting $60.

Thanks guys.

Keep it real

Daniel\m/

Jeez, can I have a cheap Auralex products endorsement already?

Yeah, the desktop MoPads definitely make a difference in terms of clarity and accuracy (are those different? -- I dunno.) How much of a difference is probably relative to the quality of your monitors, your monitor setup, and the acoustics of your room. I'd go so far as to say that they're much better than using nothing at all, though.

I don't have any experience with the China Cones, but some dudes on Gearslutz that probably buy $2000 power cords for their coffee makers seem to like them!

$2000 power cord lmao, tell me about it, bet they'd have little arrows showing the power which way to run also!!

I've put strips of neoprene under my speakers, seems to work

Ok, I just did a Neoprene vs. Auralex shootout on my coffee machine, and here are my findings:

Neoprene: Robust flavor with a nice, silky warmth. Very accurate taste, but it seems to be a little more murky and acidic towards the bottom of the cup.