Any 6 string bassists out there?

squidfetish

Apr 15, 2006
Cornwall, England
Hi there! Er... I was wondering if there are any 6 string bassists out there. I got me an Ibanez Soungear 6 string bass a few months back and I'm finally getting to grips with it, having only played a 4 string for years ( I blame John Myung!!). Any of you guys and gals play one? If so, what you got and how are you getting on with it?

Apologies if this sorta thread has happened before - I'm a newbie - that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it!

Regards
Rob :headbang:

Jaen said:
I play a 5 string fretless, not quite the same but well, i like it...=p

Cool. Fretless is a different challenge all together - another thing I've yet to get to grips with. They do sound helluva sexy when they're played well.

goth_fiend said:
I want a 6 string bass, does that count?:heh:

Go on. You know you want to. Do it. But try not to get one of those ones that's got a neck like a surfboard. Mine was cheap, but at least it's playable. :danceboy:

6 string basses are SO COOL!!! You have the low B and the high C also!

My bassist was saving up for an XBox 360, but he decided to put that money toward a 6 string bass. And I'm thinking about trading in my Ibanez 5 string bass to get a 6 string of the exact same model.

squidfetish said:
Cool. Fretless is a different challenge all together - another thing I've yet to get to grips with. They do sound helluva sexy when they're played well.

yea, it's a whole other experience of playing, especially if you consider that the fretboards on my guitars are scalloped hehe.

Ptah Khnemu said:
6 string basses are SO COOL!!! You have the low B and the high C also!

Ah right. I tune to high B so I can use the same chord shapes as I would on a guitar. Maybe it's me being lazy, but I got enough action trying to remember I got 2 extra strings without changing the tuning. But..... I can see the benefits of tuning to C. Hmmmm...

Jaen said: