Anyone good at setting up wireless networks?

ForHerDeadEyes

Señor Member
Jan 24, 2011
Sweden
So I've never used a smartphone or a tablet before.
I feel like a caveman discovering fire when using my tablet I bought/ordered on the Black Friday sale.
Even though it's a handheld PC with a regular Windows 8 OS, it's still fascinating, and for $47 it's awesome.

My plan, that failed, was to keep it in the bedroom. So I bought a USB hub, USB speakers, and an external HDD. But, the tablet only have one USB connection that it uses for charging as well. I thought I could connect the charger and everything to the hub. But now I've read that it doesn't work that way.
And the USB speakers drain the battery, so I'll have to use powered speakers.

But the biggest problem is not having the external HDD connected when I go to sleep, etc. So I would like a way to smoothly transfer files between my PC and the tablet (it is a Win 8.1 tablet), I bought a MicroSD 64Gb as well.

The tablet does have WiFi and bluetooth, but even though I've built my, and several, computers, I have no good grasp on those things. I have a fiber, so I just plug the cable in the PC and in the wall outlet, and I magically have internet without having to anything else/settings.
I can see some networks popping up when I check now, with the tablet, but I haven't tried mooching off of any of them.
The cheapest alternative is getting a USB Ethernet adapter for 10€, and drag the cable along.
Then I at least have internet on it.

But it would be really nice if I could access internet on it wirelessly, maybe even stream video/audio/etc., from my desktop.

How complicated is that to set up?
I looked at Virtual Router Plus which seems on the surface to be idiot proof, but..you never know..

Do I need a 30€ router? (Never used one before): https://www.inet.se/produkt/5404495/asus-rt-n12-d1-n300#/specs
Or can I get this USB one for 13€: https://www.inet.se/produkt/5402012/tp-link-usb-tl-wn823n-mini-n300#/specs