Anyone have some advice for FOH?

arvoitus

Dec 12, 2006
The Netherlands
I'm a beginner and i want to learn FOH. I know there are some live engineers here and i hope some of you can give me advice.

I'm having a bit trouble with getting the kickdrum right. The previous time i used a AKG D12 and a Sennheiser E602 because the drummer has 2 kickdrums (useless, i know).
I just put the mic in the hole of the front skin. With the drumhead "cupping" the mic capsule.

I'm having trouble with getting a really punchy/clicky kicksound (for a devildriver like drumsound). The kicksound was really dull with very little high-end. Not suitable at all.
I had very little time, so i couldn't experiment much with the eq.

I already searched and i found this advice: Trying to place the mic in the kickdrum with the mic close to the beater. Would this help?

Does anyone have some advice for the kicksound and other things?

Already got this:
1. Enable 100hz highpass on each channel except kickdrum, bassguitar and floor tom.
2. Cut frequencies on bass guitar, boost the same freq on kickdrum.

Thank you!

With the kick, I usually just place the mic( I use either a beta52a or usually a D6) just inside the hole, pointed towards the beater. Make sure the padding inside the kick isn't too much and isn't getting between the mic and the beater, some drummers stuff the crap out of their kicks and makes it hard to get any clarity out of it.
Eq wise I usually suck out a good bit of the low mids and boost the high shelf and boost the click frequency I like. The frequecies you need to go at really vary depending on the system and kick you're using. For fast metal there's a good chance you'll have to use the low shelf to cut the low end even more, really depends on the kick sound you're after- sometimes I end up dialing in more low end here, other times cutting it a load.
If you've got gates, definately gate the kick and keep the release pretty short so that the kicks nice and punchy.