Anyone here done any theatre work?

Trevoire520

Mar 24, 2007
Fife, Scotland
Hey guys,

Got an interview next week for a sound supervisor position at a theatre near me. I have plenty of experience in studio and live sound for music but haven't ever done any theatre stuff.

Anyone want to share their experiences and maybe give me some pointers?

It depends on what you're doing. Is it a touring house? Musical theatre? All purpose? The FOH PA stuff is pretty similar. Monitoring is less complex but you can end up doing surround and effects speakers that you never see in music stuff. There is the potential for tons of wireless stuff. You need to understand intercom systems and how they work. You need a basic understanding of power. If you don't know anything about lighting and soft goods you'll learn pretty quickly as you'll end up helping out with that stuff more than likely.
Good luck!

Seems to do a bit of everything, stand up comedy, orchestra's, musicals etc.

Tech spec on the website seems pretty basic actually, D&B E series with a LS9. I was expecting a ton of wireless stuff but there doesn't seem to be any other than a couple of Shure's with the B87 heads. I'm thinking maybe they hire things in when they need more.

I've done some very basic lighting stuff in venues but never really worked on a proper lighting board.

Cool. The D+B should sound great. What you'll find is that musicals will bring in big wireless rigs to cover their needs. You may find yourself dropping your PA a fair amount for tours to come in. A little rigging knowledge helps. Honestly though, it's all stuff you can pick up in the course of a year.
The lighting stuff you need to worry about is more hanging and focus.

heard my name? :wave:

whilst 'cruisey' on the tech side of things (to an extent/depending on the theatre) it can also be very picky,rude, and main thing is to not forget that the aesthetic of EVERYTHING is a huge thing. If your cable looks like shit you will know about it.