Assistance with Growling

PhlegethonVeins

Autopsy Obsessed
May 3, 2005
WI
I have been developing my 'growl' for a couple years now. I pretty much have it sounding like I want it on a day that I am drinking the right amount of water.

I was wondering though, does anyone know any practice teqniques that I could use to help me hold a growl for a longer period of time?

And for recording purposes, I only have a mic that came with my POS mr-8 and it doesnt pick up really well period, much less for growling. The only way with that mic that I have found to get much of any low end through is to cup it so the sound doesnt escape...but as we all know that results in another problem with the vocals not sounding right and them overriding other tracks. So, does anyone know of a fairly cheap mic I could purchase that works particularly good with death metal vocals?

Thank you!

Tumn said:
Just keep doing it if you want to increase your stamina!

I know I was just wondering if there were any certain excersizes anyone knew of that are especially good for stamina.

And a good mic people...THATS WHAT I REALLY NEED! Anyone know of any?

well, I practice my growl by walking two miles while growling along to Opeth, Bloodbath, Old Katatonia, October Tide, etc. and then for studio, I use a Shure SM58... but I'd reccommend either a real studio mic or a SM58 Dynamic.

Jinn said:
well, I practice my growl by walking two miles while growling along to Opeth, Bloodbath, Old Katatonia, October Tide, etc. and then for studio, I use a Shure SM58... but I'd reccommend either a real studio mic or a SM58 Dynamic.

Thankyou, yeah I practice along with Opeth, Bloodbath, Ribspreader...pretty much anything that has death vox and I know the lyrics too.

Yeah I looked at that mic on musiciansfriend. 100 bucks was around what I wanted to spend, so yes, thank you.

aye, no problem, glad to help a fellow growler. :)