Attention: Question For Expirenced Death Metal Drummers

Dýri_Oakenspear

The Drunk One
Aug 25, 2003
Minnesota, USA
Visit site
I'm a self taught drummer, in the style down the lines of speed/thrash/death metal. I don't think I'm all that great or talented being self taught, but I'd like to think I can hold my own for the most part.
Anywho my question is (if I can explain it right), how do some of the ultra fast drummers play that machine gun style double bass? Like for exapmle, that ultra fast beat in Metallica's St. Anger. (the only really good part of the song in my opinion btw) Or another example is alot of the beats Amon Amarth's drummer plays on their new realease Versus the World (Death in Fire is a good example)
I can play pretty fast single hits on bass and snare alternating back and forth, and I can do a pretty decent speed using double bass, ie 4 bass hits snare on one of them, and I am pretty good at the classic Lars Ulrich triplet, 2 bass hits with the snare on the third hit.
But how the hell do you play that ultra fast beat, or is it just played that fast on double bass with both feet(left right left right ect)? I was thinking there must be something more to it or else I'm just not very good and probably never will be unless I get formal drum lessons.
Thanks for any advice you can offer.

:headbang:

From all the drummers I haev worked with, that machine gun double bass roll is both feet, going left, right(or right left..whatever way works for you)

Every drummer I have ever asked has said that you have to get a metronome and work on it. Spend time every day you play drums- get the metronome out, and play the rolls in time at a slow pace, slowly speed it up. When you get to your max speed, slow it down a bit..maybe 20 BPM or so..and work back up, over and over.
Then once you get your feet going fast in time, add in the other parts-hats, snare, ride, etc.
and when you add in a part, you have to STAY in time!