Audio Cards

NathanSoulfracture

myspace.com/soulfracture
Aug 26, 2004
www.soulfracture.co.uk
i was wondering if someone could recommend me an audio card for my PC with atleast 6 inputs, i want to be able to mic a kit up say with 6 microphones then record in Cubase SX with each of the microphones on seperate tracks, so snare on one, kick on the other etc. i know this is possible but im new to this kinda thing and i dont wanna spend money on something that isnt going to give me what i want. i dont wanna spend hundreds of pounds either cos im skint student :tickled:

ive just looked at the m-audio delta 66 i know this is only 4 I/O's but on their site on the connectivity diagram it shows it linked upto a mixer, but if it only has 4 I/O's does this mean i could only use a mixer which had 4 tracks?

If you can get one, a MOTU 828 mk2 is a great interface. It costs a lot on a student budget, but would be well worth the investment.

Another good interface is the Edirol FA-101, 10-in 10-out. But I'm having a few problems with mine.

The absolute best thing you can do for your recordings, though, is to use a different sequencer than Cubase. After 4 years with it, it has caused me way more problems than tracks I have created!! Often (recently) losing me whole mixes/projects.

hmm the edirol seems cheap enough, the reason im using Cubase SX is cos im used to it and it hasnt given me any problems yet. If i was to buy the Edirol would this allow me to record upto 10 things on seperate tracks within Cubase at the same time? or would i have to buy software which would allow me to interface it with?

but would the delta cards let me record a few seperate tracks at the same time? sorry for all the questions but i just wanna know how it works. would i have to assign each track in cubase to an input on the audio card or would it automatically assign itself to seperate tracks if it detected a signal coming through it?

NathanSoulfracture said: