Bass "popping".

Vicioushead

Jan 29, 2012
Ireland
No, not a thread about slap technique :)

I always have this issue with bass. The transients, especially at the beginning of a phrase sorta pop louder than other parts.

I am recording direct, not using any amp sim but am using one of the impulses included with recabinet. It is compressed heavily with a high ratio (15/1) with a fast attack and medium release.

Here is a clip of what I mean:

The little unison line at 0.16 seconds has a little "pop". Is there a way to eliminate this kind of thing? Please excuse my lack of knowledge...I am still pretty new to this stuff.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
I know what you mean.
That problem occurs often with fingerstyle. I think it's a poblem with cheaper basses/pickups.
Distortion helps and also a lower lowpass filter. Retracking is also an option, sometimes the bassist isn't tight enough to control the dynamics.

I played on this myself using a pick. I can't really think that I'd be picking harder on one or more notes. Tis entirely possible though :)

^ thats just a technique issue really ... of course you'll be picking harder on some notes, especially the ones at the beginning of a passage .. its like a singer starting out a little sharp on a new phrase

honestly though, I heard nothing that bothered me and I'm pretty critical with bass :)

The suggestion to try adding a little distortion and maybe messing with the EQ a little is not bad either but it all depends on the sound you're going for

If it bothers you that much just see if you can find the offending sound with EQ, notch it out and compare

You might be able to set up a limiter just to catch those peaks, overall i'm not hearing anything that's going to kill your bass tone come mix time though.

Too much gain reduction and too fast attack. I'd suggest switching to a limiter if you want to crush the dynamics. A popular way of doing that is using a 1176-style compressor -> LA2A compressor.