best pickups

JesterRace

May 30, 2002
USA
Visit site
I've heard numerous different opinions on the best pickups to use for that saturated melodic death metal sound, maybe someone can clear this up for me.

My main axe is an ESP like the kirk hammett model without the skull and crossbone inlays. I have dual seymour duncan humbuckers on it, and I really like the dark sound that they put out. However people keep telling me that I need to get either
DiMarzio or EMG HZ's for it. Any ideas?

Screw the EMG HZ's. Get REAL EMGs.... 81, more smoother and flat eq'd, or the 85 which would be a little warmer and have more distortion.

If you're thinking about going passive, there's a whole world out there, and no one will have the same opinions... just better to try some of them out and see what you like....

Duncans aren't bad - many metal guitarists use them. I have no personal experience with them, but if you like the sound, there's no reason to switch IMO.

If you're considering EMG:

I agree w. Xeno that the 81 and the 85 are the nicest EMG models - I've been using those for years now. There are a few things you should be aware of if you switch to EMG's though:

If you have a guitar with two humbuckers, you might want to get two EMG's while you're at it - especially if you're one of those that actually use the neck pickup. The reason is that EMG's usually mate very poorly with passive mikes of other brands. If you never use the neck pickup ever, you can just do what I do: Get one EMG for the bridge position and disconnect the neck pickup from the rest of the wiring, so you don't get any weird interference.