Best sounding out-of-the-box drums

Sidious

Apr 4, 2005
Hey guys

So i wanted to create som drum tracks, that i can use for practicing. Some time ago i read about the EZX Metal Machine expansion, and how it sounded really great right out of the box. The suits me perfectly. I now notice that new product has been released since then, called EZX Made of Metal.

So what im asking is, which of these two would suit me better? Im a musician and not an engineer, so i dont want to spend a lot of time fiddling with compressors, eq, filters etc. I just want to spend my time creating music. But im still picky regarding sound quality.

So which of these two sound the best right out of the box? And is there any other products that might suit me even better?

Regards
Jay Jay

EZD2 actually has a bunch of good mixer presets for each kit, which include some basic compression/eq/etc. I haven't used Made Of Metal, but Metal Machine sounds pretty damn good.

You can't go wrong with either to be honest, though they have different characters to them. MM is more snappy/cracky than MOM I find. Have a listen to the clips on the Toontrack website and you should get a good idea of the difference between the packs.

Metal Machine. It's more pre-processed. You have to do a moderate amount to get it to really slam, but the basic sound only requires maybe 2-3 cuts/boosts per mic to sound usable in a mix.

when you're not interested in mixing, then you won't go wrong with any expansion pack, stock presets sound decent or better said are OK sounding.

real fun begins when you go deeper, route outputs into your DAW and you'll process it like you would real drums.

havent used made of metal, but metal machine is the shit. if you are a fan of andy's drum sounds you wont be disappointed.