Blackstar Series One heads

I own the EL34 104 head, and have compared it to the 6L6 head through the same cabinet with the same guitar (my personal Rectifier 2x12 and Les Paul Traditional Pro). I've read this forum for a while, and finally have something I can contribute. Myself I am a guitarist of around 12 years, as a serious hobbyist/amateur.

Here are some clips I recorded of my 104 head today. I am not as good a guitarist or engineer/producer as most of the guys on this forum but I hope they are of help to some. With the metal demo I just went through some different styles/tunings showing boosted and unboosted (I prefer to boost my OD channels) and both channels, without touching the EQ. In the ISF demos I only move the ISF control to show its scope on the OD channels.

----------

Quick reviews of the 104 heads -

EL34 Pros - Broader range of usable tones, can get warm and smooth leads more easily. Can cover 'classic rock' territory more convincingly
Cons - OD1 and OD2 are harder to get to work together with the shared EQ compared to the 6L6. Awful knob colour, very difficult to see settings. Can get bright easiy. Not as punchy for palm mutes nor as aggressive for metal.

6L6 Pros - Arguably nicer clean (gets more glassy and fenderish), Super crunch channel has the best tone for metal out of both heads/all channels in my opinion, OD1 and OD2 shared EQ works better in my opinion. Much better knob colour which is a big pro for live. Punchier and more aggressive overall
Cons - Harder to get a warm sound of of this head, harder to get smooth fat leads, didn't find the OD channels as versitile as I couldn't dial out the aggression.

General Pros - quality switches and knobs, excellent series loop, good footswitch, DPR works as advertised, midi.

General Cons - Knob design not easiest to see (though way better on the 6L6), unbalanced due to transformer design, shared EQs, clean modes/crunch modes not footswitchable
------------