blast beats and such

trumma

New Metal Member
Feb 23, 2007
i would say im an advanced novice at the drums. ive got alot of basic beats down and im getting pretty intricate in my double bass technique. one thing that is puzzling me is blast beats. im not necessarily big on death metal drumming but knowing how to do the occasional blast beat would help me immensely in my technique. any help at all would be most appreciated

A typical blast beat (if I'm not mistaken) would be like:
s S s
H h h
B b b b b b

It's a snare/tom+cymbal+bass played at the same time.
Sometimes (in the example above) with bass beats in between hits.

Yeah sceloporus is right, the two basic blastbeat patterns in 8th note's are:

hh = hi-hat or ride
sn = snare
bd = bass drum

hh: x-x-x-x-x-x-x
sn: x-x-x-x-x-x-x
db: x-x-x-x-x-x-x

and

hh: x-x-x-x-x-x-x
sn: -x-x-x-x-x-x-
db: x-x-x-x-x-x-x

The second is often called a grindbeat. There are many variations, such as incorporting 16th note double bass, quarter note hi-hats and/or bass drum, and many more. The main thing is that there are constant 8th note's on the snare.

Look here for some variations:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blast_beat

I dont know much about drums (because I play guitar not drums), but would gravity blasting be considered a blast beat, when combines wiht double bass that is.

I dont know much about drums (because I play guitar not drums), but would gravity blasting be considered a blast beat, when combines wiht double bass that is.

I don't play drums either but I thought gravity blasts are done resting the stick on the rim and bouncing it up/down really rapidly.

thanks alot guys that helps alot. that video was awsome therma tyvm. i just have trouble doing doubles at the same speed im doing 1 hand rolls. i have a tendancy to make my doubles twice as fast as what im doin with my hat hand. so would it be better just to use one pedal? or is that a bad technique to develop?