car questions

Baliset

guitar deity
Jul 31, 2002
New England
www.maudlinofthewell.com
ok so i checked my coolant level this morning and as was previously thought, it was dreadfully low. now this begs the question of:

Is there a specific kind of coolant i need to get?

the kind i saw in there looked red to me or brownish.

Also:

Do I need to add water to the coolant and how much?

How much do I fill the coolant tank up to?

Do I need to drain the remaining fluid out first?

Should I just take it to the Jiffy Lube down the street?

And if the coolant is helping the engine to not overheat anymore, and there are no leaks that I can see, what should I do if the "check engine" light is still on?

i am a novice with these types of things.

I only learn car stuff when something goes horribly wrong :(

but: I would say, especially if you don't know the last time the radiator was flushed and refilled (half coolant, half water) that you go ahead and have that done and then start up the engine and see 1) if the light comes back on and 2) is there a leak of coolant under the engine. if you've got a leak, then you can buy some sealant that is poured into the radiator which will plug minor leaks.

if the car begins to overheat and there ISN'T a leak, then its probably the thermostat. What kind of car is it?

You fill the tank up to the line it says is the max, it should be there on the side.

You need water and antifreeze, any coolant should do the trick.

50/50 ratio is good. Don't fill it up to the max and go ask at any corner gas station with a garage to check the ratio for you, it should be free. or you can buy this :

ptester.jpg

Which should cost you 10$ at most to check it.

Don't flush what's in there. If you want to do that, then its a professional's job to flush everything and check the radiator, I doon't think you need that now.

never owned a mazda. what year? do you have a maintenance manual for it?

I've never owned a mazda.