changing pickups on a cheap 7string Ibanez

Jun 17, 2008
Portugal
The guitar I use is a cheap 7 string basswood Ibanez RG that I bought second hand for 230€.
It was a great deal, I have been using it for almost two years and it plays well, stays in tune and doesn't sound too terrible.

But now I want to replace the pickups, these sound somewhat muddy.
I'm looking for a sound that retains the maximum amount of natural high frequencies of the string's vibrations. In other words, I want that ZING you hear when you play your guitar unplugged with brand new strings, and it seems that is mostly lost when recorded, because my pickups have a very hard time getting those frequencies captured, they end up acting like a LPF.
Besides that, if I allow myself some wishful thinking, I'd like the pickups to also retain some low end and having pronounced high mids (around 2kHz).

I want passive ones because I'm tired of changing batteries, and I've been looking mostly at Dimarzio models because they are a direct fit. I've seen a video where a guy compared 4 models of Dimarzio 7 string bridge pickups, and I ended up liking the EVO the best, it seemed to be the closest to what I was looking for.

My concern is choosing a neck model to complement the EVO. I thought about going with another EVO for the neck, but I'm afraid the neck pickup will be much louder, when it should be the opposite. I also thought about just going for the Crunchlab+Liquifire combo, because they seemed to have been made to complement each other and they get good reviews.

Any opinions?

EDIT: I just found a guy "near" me that is selling a 7 string Bareknuckle Painkiller for 90€. I have no idea if sounds decent or if it justifies that price.

the painkiller is very good, mostly oriented for extreme metal. The crunchlab is great for generic metal, but I'd try also the other new pickup designed by john petrucci: the dimarzio illuminator. seems similar to the crunchlab, but probably more "zingy" ;D