Cheap guys guide to Bass guitar?

What is your preferred cheap man method of recording bass guitar?

• Buy a cheap bass guitar

Votes: 58 79.5%
  • Program using MIDI software (Trillian etc)

Votes: 12 16.4%
  • Pitched down guitar

Votes: 2 2.7%
  • Other

Votes: 1 1.4%

• Total voters
Yes, I have played bass in two bands for a few years. Plus I have recorded a fucking metric ton of bassists. The best results are always playing it like you mean it, aggressive.

nah not me man. for solo sections sure, make it agressive, ringouts, sure. but for everything else you get crazy sustain already. add a compressor and youve got your bang as well as being in tune. are any of you bassists?

I'm a bassist. I think hard playing produces the best sound (I guess the term best is relative) and if sustain is a problem then maybe you need to look at your palm muting rather than the strength at which you hit your notes, I think that's the most common culprit for people who are getting lots of loud sustain.

I used to record it on guitar then use Melodyn to "extract" a midi file out of it, correct it a bit and then put it in a vst instrument but fu*k, this is a long process, and not really effective so I'll buy next week a Squier Jazz Vintage Modified bass. For what... 200-300$ you get a real bass sound!

Nice selective quoting. If you read the rest of my post it's obvious why it's relevant. The cheapest (and generally best) way to get bass tracks if you aren't a bass player is to get a bass player.
I also disagree with your technique recommendations. Yes play accurately, but play hard and evenly. If you are an inexperienced bass player you are going to naturally have a really uneven touch.

Indeed.
Arguably, as far as "Tone is in the fingers" goes, it's probably most important for bass guitar of them all.