Bass-guitar - my personal nightmare

JoeJackson

Oct 9, 2007
Germany
Okay, I'm a guitarist. I know, what guitar-sound I'm going for - for every project and player (and I'm mostly mixing myself, so I've got a pretty good idea, where I want to go). I have no fundamental problems mixing drums, too. But mixing bass-guitar - being a nearly inaudible, kind of mysterious instrument to me - is my personal horror ... each and every time.

Lets say my goal is, to achieve a relatively decent sound for demo'ing song-ideas to my fellow band-mates. Thus I can't shell out a new set of bass-strings for every song and I can't spend hours and hours automating the bass-tracks. I've got a relatively good bass-guitar (an LTD GC-4), a bunch of plugins and a shitload of suggestions and tutorials about recording and mixing bass-guitar (Ola's YouTubetorial, the Systematic Mixing Guide and knowledge that I aquired over the years from this board).

Still I'm constantly ending up with boomy tracks that are lacking basically everything or overwhelming the whole song. I don't need perfect bass-tracks, just a little push in the right direction.

Could some of you guys show me some readily mixed bass-tracks so that I can analyze, of what a good bass-sound consists of?

Lets say my goal is, to achieve a relatively decent sound for demo'ing song-ideas to my fellow band-mates. Thus I can't shell out a new set of bass-strings for every song and I can't spend hours and hours automating the bass-tracks.

If this is the case then you shouldn't be losing sleep over this kind of thing.

But if you're not gonna bother with new strings then don't expect much, you're going to be losing a lot of upper-mid bite and lows right out of the gate.

If you're micing up a decent bass cab and head with a well intonated instrument with fresh strings you shouldn't need to much except compression and some subtractive EQ.