Chord progression analysis of Godhead's Lament

Crepuscularia

Mar 7, 2008
So, I've been trying to develop my analysis skills, and I thought I would start by looking at Godhead's Lament. I've posted my long-winded discoveries here, in case anyone's interested in looking at them.

I used the tab from xguitar.com, for reference.

A caveat: I am no expert, and I'm sure there are plenty of mistakes, if not in the notation then in the actual analysis itself!

Also, I have taken a lot of liberties with the analysis in order to make it easier. For one thing, I have ignored many suspensions and other extended harmonies, which in some sense sort of defeats the purpose because a) these types of chords are everywhere in Opeth's music, and b) they are a large part of what makes their music so compelling.

And, some sections were so highly chromatic that I had no idea how to analyze them, so I didn't!

These omissions notwithstanding, here it is:

Section 1 (key = G major):

The opening (seems) highly chromatic, and features only power chords and octaves with the tritone making a couple of brief appearances. All of the notes are from a mixture of the g major and minor scales with the exception of the c# which is the flat 5 of g (tritone). The diminished passage Cdim, Cdim/A, Cdim/Gflat can be considered the viidim of G major and this cadence seems to place the opening in the key of G.

After a short transition (Bb - A)....

Section 2 (key = G major):

this passage can be analyzed in G major as:

I6 - ii6 - viidim - VII - ii - vi