compression while tracking

Fragle

Jul 27, 2005
Germany
disclaimer: i've never used a hardware comp before (planning to buy one soon though), so the answer to my question might be really obvious ^^

anyways, seems like most if not all pro's and semi pro's swear by tracking vocals through a compressor, distressor comes to mind here.
my question is, what's the difference between tracking through the comp, and tracking dry but routing the vocal out to the comp later in the mix? i figure that the latter will give you more control on how the compression exactly sits in the mix. tracking through the comp obviously gives you a more consistent vocal to work with in the mix, but on the other hand you can't undo too much compression during the tracking stage.

so, what's the idea behind it?

you also end up having more control over the amount of compression needed in the mix stage by compressing to "tape". The idea being its always better to go through several stages of light compression to achieve an end result as opposed to smashing the hell out of a track in one shot

of course, this can vary depending on the style of music and/or the actual sound you're going for

If you're using high quality ADDA conversion, the extra stages isn't really that big a deal.

There are two real advantages to tracking through compression. 1) you can track hotter, which makes it easier for the singer to hear himself in the cue mix, and 2) good singers will "ride" the compression, using it like an effect.

Oh, and if you do it on the way in you don't need to do it later. When you charge by the hour bands really appreciate when you can nail down a sound now so they don't have to pay you to screw around with it later.

i do a fair amount on the way in and lots more later.