dbFS and RMS?

fader198

Jan 24, 2010
I'm a noob to this recording stuff and was reading some threads about mastering levels. Some guys were talking about dbFS and RMS and I was wondering what both meant and how they relate to each other. Some say they master to -10db RMS and others say -3dbFS. What is the correlation?

The meters in the majority of DAWs are peak meters, with some having RMS meters. RMS in electronic speak is the effective DC amount of work in an AC signal, and is a logarithmic half of the actual peak value. So if you have a sine wave peaking a -3dB (say peak voltage is 10v) then the RMS level will be -6dB (or 7.07vrms). Why is RMS important to audio? Because RMS is a better indicator of actual perceived volume than peaks. Because there are constant varying levels of many different frequencies, the average RMS (the effective peak work over a certain amount of time) will not be the same as simply taking the peak signal and multiplying is by .707, which means, the RMS level can be independent on the mix and use of compression and the general frequency balance of the instruments.. The RMS meters are giving you an idea of the average perceived volume where the peak meters will let you know if the signal is ever going over 0db. There is a general correlation, typically, the higher the Peak, the higher the RMS up to a certain point, the mastering process will bring up the RMS without increasing the peak (and when the peak is at 0dB, you can't increase it more, so you process to increase loudness (RMS)).

What is important to know is that the peak meters in your DAW are what allow you to know your absolute signal maximums and be be sure that you never go over. The RMS meter will help get the target loudness when you are using limiters/compressors so that while you don't have any clipping, your mix will be louder.