DDRUM TRIGGERS?

heavenshell

Jul 26, 2006
Im just wondering how i can get a really heavy drum sound like most metal albums liek more new metal. How do i sample the drums using what software what techinquedo i need a brain with my triggers im new to using them what should i do .. to get like an as i lay dying feel just less drum machinish..
Andrew~

Ok well there are about a thousand routes to go down. The one I recommend, and I'm sure others will agree, is to get DDrum Pro series triggers, and Drumagog. Drumagog is a sound replacement plugin that is catered for drum sound replacement. Andy Sneap has a few samples you can import as soon as you get and I must say they kick mucho arse, the kick is super thick and cuts through like nobody's business all while having that thud that gets you in the gut everytime it triggers.

For more technical explanation, you need a preamp of some kind (any microphone preamp will work) to run your DDrum Pro trigger(s) into. You record the blips from those triggers to each of their own tracks, then you run Drumagog with the respective samples on the respective tracks, i.e. the snare trigger track has Drumagog with a snare sample, kick trigger track has Drumagog with the kick sample, and so on. You can then treat the track as if you had recorded an actual kick, placing compression, limiting, equalization, band compression, reverb, whatever you want to the audio that will now be playing on that track.