Death Metal (Old School) - Steven Slate Drums

Melodeath

Moonbow
Feb 6, 2004
Northern VA
Ok, I posted this song here before (can be found in thread http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/...95555-old-school-death-metal-my-band-mix.html)

It was time for a new thread, though, because this remix is fairly significant. This is my first time using Steven Slate Drums (I now have Platinum!), and first time doing drum replacement in general. The kick and snare are all I replaced. The rest is the natural kit.
The drum replacement took forever. I used KTDrumtrigger to generate a MIDI track from the recorded kick and snare.

http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/file.php?id=19036

Let me know what you think. I can provide any details on the mixing/recording/mastering if you want. There's quite a bit of info in the previous thread, though.

Sounds fucking killer, loving the snare sound. I could really use something like that on the project I'm working on now, to bad I missed out on that awesome Sneap Forum deal. I Really dig the tone/playing of the solo, feels really Dismember-ish. Which is great. The only thing I would do is lower the kick, or make it stand out less. Like have it more thundering in the background, rather than slapping you in the face. But it works very well on the slower parts, so maybe just automate it lower for the faster stuff.

Thanks for the comment!

I know what you mean about the kick. Sometimes feel the kick is a bit "bloated" if you know what I mean. Using a limiter on the mix really brings out the bassyness of the kick and sort of makes it "explode." It sounds pretty great before I use Elephant. I actually reduced the lows on the kick by about 6 dB, but I guess I probably should have picked a less bassy kick to begin with anyhow.

I like the vocal style in this song a lot. It works really well and has a vibe that a lot of those old school kind of guys do, but there are some elements to it that sounds different and cool.