DI, impedances, preamps, phantom, active, passive... what a mess!

Jevil

Pro Evolution Fucker
Apr 18, 2006
Basque Country
www.soulitude-web.com
My electronical knowledge is poor (I studied mechanic engineering). So I'm a bit confused about all this shit. When I go to pro-studio, everything gets done and do not worry for these things, but at home is different.

Can anybody post an explanation for retarded people like me?

Or answer these questions.

1. Do I need an active or passive DI Box if I record at home to a soundcard of 9mV to 500mV mic input? No 48 V. phantom preamp. Just TRS "Mic In". Pod Xt works perfect connected to this but have to adjust it's level to minimum.

2. I guess my soundcard (old Terratec) has it's own Mic preamp built-in. It has a knob that let you adjust input level. I can plug my guitar direct into the soundcard and no impedance trouble seem to happen... loading Lepou's plu ings sound awesome... but is this correct or should I use a DI Box?

I could ask many other questions, but don't want to be boring.

Is the TRS "mic in" balanced or is it for a stereo input? check your souncard's documentation.

Also check what its input impedance is. Active electronic devices will normally state what minimum load the can be operated into. Just read the manuals.

If it's a stereo jack then a DI box is no help, since the DI output is balanced.

If it's balanced input you'll get cleaner signal from an unbalanced source by using a DI box. There's ones which use a step-down transformer (like 10:1 ratio) for dropping line-level to mic-level signals. This would be useful if you had a synth with unbalanced outputs.

But the PODxt outputs are balanced TRS jacks, so a DI box isn't necessary for recording that.

As for plugging the guitar straight into the card, if it's a passive pickup and it sounds fine then just do it.

Is the TRS "mic in" balanced or is it for a stereo input? check your souncard's documentation.