Disturbed/Avenged Sevenfold Concert

johnfrank1970

Jan 10, 2002
Madison, WI
welcome.to
Last night, I went to my first arena show since Metallica's horrible Black Album tour performance in 1991 or 1992 in Madison, Wisconsin. Disturbed's last three albums have ranked very highly for me in their release years, and I thought it was about time I saw them live. I was also curious about revisiting the arena concert experience, as I have many fond memories of shows from when I was a teenager and college student.

This silly tour package (ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK UPROAR FEST, FUCK YEAH, MOTHERFUCKER!!!!) started at something like 3:15 yesterday with an outdoor stage. I actually would not have minded seeing Hail the Villain, but, I mean, come on. I actually have a job and stuff. Also, there is no way I would want to sit through 8 hours of these bands.

So I arrived in the evening and looked at the merch. I decided I could stand the ridicule of my many tr00 metal brethren and asked for the coolest Disturbed shirt in XL. Sold out. Went to the other merch stand across the venue. Also sold out. I envisioned a ranting post about how bands always seem to run out of merch (especially since I was asking for an XL, and most of their teenybopper audience wears a M at best), but I came to and realized that Madison was the last stop on this tour. Fine. So I won't rant, but I am still curious - For those in the know, how is merch handled on tours? It really does seem like bands run out of shirts at every show I am at. Do they not have enough space on tour to carry more than one show's worth of merch, so they have shirts shipped to each venue? Do they intentionally underbuy to ensure they never have excess inventory? I would think you could sell excess shirts on-line, but I don't know.