Do many of you guys do live sound?

if6was9

Ireland
Jun 13, 2007
lreland
Just wondering if many of you guys do live sound as well as studio work?

Do ye find it helps/affects your studio work and approach?

I've been working in a small venue ( max cap 250) for the last 4-5 months doing 1-2 gigs a week and every now and then I get asked to do gigs outside of there. I'm the venues metal live engineer and do the odd gig in other styles.

I love it- I've learned a ton more doing live gigs about building mixes, eqing, micing and routing, plus its great for learning how to deal with people better and making contacts with bands.

I love the way problems have to be dealt with and the show no matter what always goes on- if something isn't sounding great you work quickly and fix it. I find myself taking alot more risks than with studio work- trying new stuff and making it work. I'm constantly trying different mics on different sources and comparing how they work in the mixes.

My only concern is that- even though I wear plugs for almost the entire gig, taking 1 out to check mixes a few times during a set and not using them for sound checks so I can get a proper ear for the tone, I still feel it at home the night of a gig. Not bad ringing much but just they're more sensitive than usual and I certainly wouldn't go mixing a studio project straight after a live gig.

i do live sound too, in my opinion you have to think faster than studio job, also you get more chances to work with more styles of music, also it's a good way to make contacts.

Other thing is for example, if you screw it with a band in the studio, probably they will never show up again, if you screw it live possible you will get more chances to redeem yourself in a near future...at least in my experience.