doctor rant

antiheroinc

Feb 23, 2010
Brisbane, Australia
i'm a bit fed up with my doctors at the moment.
today, had my monthly blood test to see if my prescriptions are still working the way they're suppose to. no doubt they will be low levels again this month, and they'll talk about changing me to another different drug or two, but nothing will come of it.
while i was talking to one of my doctors i had brought up the subject of losing some weight, he replied "good luck, the medications you are on have a tendency of packing the kilos on to people".
i was not enthused by this response, i've been killing myself at the gym for over 2 months now and haven't lost anything, i've been eating smaller and less, and have been doing at least 2 hours of exercise a day.
another great line from the doctor was "i'd rather you be overweight and alive, rather then thinner and dead". some confidence my doctor has in me, right? i will admit, i've been down that road in the past, but as my psyche evaluation will prove, i'm not that person anymore.
the next subject i bring up is my lack of sleep. he blatantly refuses to give me any sleeping medication because of my prior history.
the last 2 weeks, i've only slept in the daytime for 2hrs at a time.
now i'm always half awake, tired all the time.

these things are just bothering me right now so i hope you guys don't mind if i vent a little. i literally feel like im losing my mind again these days, and i really don't feel like being strapped to a hospital bed again while they decide what to do with me.

so advice? haha

Seems to be a pretty involved situation. I'm not sure what medication you're on or what predicated it, but I highly doubt anyone here is qualified to answer in any meaningful capacity. Involved medical issues can only be handled by those who are hands on with the problem. Anyone else would just be stabbing in the dark and perhaps offering ideas that are dangerous, despite sounding welcome.