Double Bass (the upright stringed variety)

jeid

Terribad
Mar 9, 2009
Scotland
Hopefully someone will be able to help me out here. There's a possibility that I might be tracking a double bass player in the not to distant future. It's something that I've never done before so I'm looking for some advice on the matter.

If we use the guy I have in mind, I know his double bass has a pickup fitted, should I just DI it? Or should I DI it and mic it up? What sort of mic would I use?

Any advice on the matter would be excellent. Thanks :)

Hopefully someone will be able to help me out here. There's a possibility that I might be tracking a double bass player in the not to distant future. It's something that I've never done before so I'm looking for some advice on the matter.

If we use the guy I have in mind, I know his double bass has a pickup fitted, should I just DI it? Or should I DI it and mic it up? What sort of mic would I use?

Any advice on the matter would be excellent. Thanks :)

I'd take a DI and mic it, double the options then :)

I mic'd up a double bass when I was in college and used an NT5 and an NT2A. NT2A more towards the body/bridge and the NT5 on the neck around the main finger area. I dont have the recording now but it turned out pretty well! Just experiment!

i'll presume you wont be dealing with bowing, so i'll stick with plucked

Get your head down around it as it's being played and really listen, double basses sound very different in different positions. Pick out positions that pick up particular elements that you want, or maybe one that picks up a really good balance, It's all pretty standard fare.

The DI could be useful, but try not to rely on it during tracking,