Drop C intonation and buzzing problem.

tk7261

Oct 19, 2012
So i am not that experienced with guitar repair so it would be awesome if you guys could help me out. so i have a schecter c1 hellraiser special. when i got it i put it into drop c and it sounded fine. i bought heavier guage strings but i decided not to put them on cause i have tendonitis in both wrists ands its hard for me to press them down (and the normal strings sounded fine). but after a while it started buzzing. so i raised my action and redid my intonation and it was fine.

it started buzzing again but raising the action doesnt help. it is buzzing pretty evenly on the first 5 frets or so. the string is almost touching the fretboard down there (without holding anything down). but up towards the 12th fret the string is pretty far off the fretboard. i assume i need to adjust the truss rod but im scared to do this and i dont have the right allen key. so i would need to buy it. any ideas on how to fix the buzzing?

My band tunes to Drop C and lately I've noticed both guitars AND bass have started buzzing. Probably due to weather change and they all need to be adjusted.

Try a set of 12s but use a D bass string for the drop C.
This has always worked great for me when recording for B or C.
Good tension, good intonation and stable tuning.

Try a set of 12s but use a D bass string for the drop C.
This has always worked great for me when recording for B or C.
Good tension, good intonation and stable tuning.

Tempted to try that, but is the ball fitting the ferrule/block nicely? Always having tension problems on my guitars with a 60 down to drop B

Sorry for hijacking the thread :kickass:

I've been sticking with .10-.46 in Drop C. Apparently that is too light.

Once tracked in Drop C on an LTD Viper with some set of .13s. THAT was a little rough compared to what I'm used to.....But felt soooooo stable.

I can't even imagine that :lol:

10-52 is what I use in D standard.