Drum machines! whats the big deal?

Thumpcrush

OGR DJ
Jan 8, 2008
Blunt Columbia Canada
Okay First off I am a grindcore drummer. I play fast lots of double kick etc. But I've also used a drum machine for recording stuff cuz it just sounds good. so Whats the deal With the drum machine haters? Is it just the sythetic sound? cuz that can be tweaked and fixed to sound pretty fuckin close to real or is it a purist thing?

I guess the reason I'm asking is this: I feel If your a true artist you use everthing thats out there to make the music you want to hear regardless of attitude etc. Personally it's a no brainer for me.

So drum machine haters/lovers sound off cuz I don't get it.

banner2copy-1.jpg

the robotic precision can be annoying - no mistakes can mean lifeless. Also, the thing doesn't sound too good a lot of the time. Most people don't have a big problem with them, but I think most would agree that live drums are preferable...

it all depends on how they are mixed, if done right you'll never really hear the difference. Zitoid the Omniscient is a good example

Yup, all in the mixing and how good the samples are. I couldn't tell that Persuader used them on their last album until I was told. The only thing that bothers me sometimes is the kick. If you don't have a good kick, it really hurts the sound. And the hi-hat can be annoying at times too.

I definetely prefer live drums compared to a drum machine. But, in my position a drum machine is more convenient since I live somewhere I can't set up my kit. Doesn't sound too bad when I record and I get my ideas down.

sometimes you can't find a live drummer. That is why people use drum machines...I've never heard of anyone preferring a drum machine over live drums.