Drum Overhead Positioning

VexBlack

New Metal Member
Oct 15, 2013
Hi all,

First post here so hello!

Understandably this is a question that "depends on what sounds good" but...

I'm a drummer and have the kit below, I'm in a metal band with the influences of Metallica, A7X, Bullet for my Valentine and many more. So not too heavy.

I was just wondering if there were any starting points of where to put the overheads?
IMG_20131015_083920.jpg

Cheers!
Vex

You normally want to create a "center line" through your kick and snare so that they are evenly balanced in the OHs.

drum%20center%20line.jpg

(something close to that)

Your snare is a fair bit to the left of the kit, as a lot of drummers with a single kick drum tend to do. Your setup is a lot like my drummers, and he has more cymbals on the right hand side of the kit and only 1 crash and the hats on the left. So it sort of freaked me out trying to get the center line a bit because I was afraid there wouldn't be enough balance of cymbals from left/right.

Basically, create a center line through your kick and snare, position from there. Test record, listen, move mics if need, repeat. Watch your phase!

I alway make sure that the OH mics have equal distance to the snare (I use a cable for measuring). This often results in strange looking setups but for me it's the best sounding way to position them because the snare has less phase issues and it's dead center in the stereo image. Often the mic on the Hi-Hat side is higher than the other mic. Let the drummer play a part where he uses all cymbals and make sure you cover them all with your 2 mics.