Drummers: broken cymbals?

botus99

Microphone Assassin
May 20, 2007
Chicago suburbs
I've been a drummer for 12 years now, and my pile of broken cymbals isn't getting any smaller. I know stick technique has much to do with the life of your cymbals among other things... but those things aside, what I really want to know is:

What do you (or should you do) with broken cymbals?

EDIT: meant to put this in the Equipment section. Sorry!

LOL I once used an angle grinder to trim off the slack from one of my drummers old broken cymbals hahaha didnt sound too good afterwards

throw em in the garbage/give em to someone who can't afford good cymbals. Once they are cracked they just sound like total shit IMHO. I generally go to a music school here in town and teacher makes sure that the kids who can't afford stuff gets at least something they can hit.

guitar center usually sucks, but they do offer an extended warranty for an extra $20 or $30 for their cymbals. On tour, i always cracked my cymbals in less than a year or two, so the warranty always benefited me. The way it worked back then was if you cracked the cymbal while still on the manufacturer warranty, the guitar center warranty group would send you a box to put the cymbal in with pre paid shipping to the manufacturer(there is your $20 right there). You would still have your extended warranty through guitar center after this. You would then get a brand new cymbal from the manufacturer.
Now if you crack a cymbal after the manufacturer warranty is up, your 1 year extended warranty with GC came into effect. I've heard of them doing it different ways, but generally they mail you a box, and you put the broken cymbal in it. Then they mail you a guitar center check for the full price you paid for the cymbal(minus tax). Then you can just go to GC, buy another cymbal, and only pay tax and for a new warranty. Easy peasy lemon squeezy

now this was a couple of years ago, so things may have changed