Ed's master slap funk class

ebass

Bottom Line
Sep 17, 2002
Nor Cal
enchant.nu
Hey all I am doing a master calss at this new venue / cutting edge facility in Walnut Creek Ca next Thursday. This Thursday actually 3/30. Its a low key thing actually, but really cool. I will be focusing on the Slap Funk methods of bass. As most of you know I am very influenced by funk and the early pioneeers of slap. Larry Graham, Louis Johnson, Stanley Clarke etc, and more contemporary artists like Flea as well. I apply this with my progressive influences like Geddy for instance and try and focus on the groove and feel more than a million notes, although thats fun also with Enchant. Yeah I know its a a strange combination but it works for me.

I will be there from 7:30 to 8:30 next Thursday night and probably after for a bit , they host a jam as well. I believe Jeff Tamalier from Tower of Power will be hosting the guitar version of funk style that night. Should be fun, check out www.redhouselive.com for details. I plan on doing a slap tap and prog bass deal there later as well. Maybe even taping it. This place is really cool and anyone in the area interested in networking with local musicians and jams and instruction should really check this out. my very good friend Kennan Shaw www.kennenshaw.com teaches fretless bass at this venue and is an amazing player that does a great job with this.

I may even break out the new Conklin GT7 groove tools bass ( another thread ) I am endorsing now as well.

Absolutely. Ed is a role model in terms of diversity on the bass, so I totally want him to use every bass playing technique in the world on the next record. :D Listening to the likes of "Sinking Sand" and "Hold The Wind" makes me think "Tug Of War" was a great bass album already, though. Still, I'd love to hear some fretless bass from him as soon as possible. :) (This sounds mighty strange considering the man himself is around. :oops: )