Electric guitar newbie here...

Jan 7, 2003
Preparing your grave. :)
Hello...I'm planning on getting an electric guitar in the next few months or years (o_O), and, a friend told me Gibson was the best...I had a look at their site and well...I'm basically looking for quality guitar fit for some hard rock/heavy metal sounds...So some recommendations would be nice...

Also, at what price can I get those guitars? I'm estimating that I can take a guitar in the $300 - $1000 range...

And, if Gibson is the most expensive brand of guitars...then what is the second best to it? Er, I mean, something with a few cheaper guitars but with almost the same quality as theirs...

Thanks in advance. :)

Gibsons are extremely overpriced and honestly I don't think they are worth what people pay for them, because at least half the price is for that name "Gibson"...just like Marshall stuff. You can get the same if not better for less money. And that standard less paul is stripped, it has none of the features or the looks of higher end gibson guitars. I also, just as personal preference, don't like Les Pauls..so play them first.

I'd check out the Schecter C series stuff, i've got a c-1 classic that is just wonderful in terms of looks and playing that ended up around $700 with a hard case from guitar center. I'd recommend that whole series, just great looking solid guitars with lots of tone. I'd also check out some Jackson's, maybe a DKMG or some of the Soloists you can find for under 1000. Also the higher end LTD's are quite good, there is a les paul knockoff and the M-1000 that are quite good. Ibanez has some decent guitars in that range as well. Stay away from Epiphone and any B.C. Rich that isn't Platinum or better, and play anything before you buy it.