plague_rider

Coffee
Nov 13, 2008
Newcastle
I've heard that there are a few people using different setups of the EMG setup:

-Bridge 81 / Neck 85
-Bridge 81 / Neck 81
-Bridge 85 / Neck 81

My question is, has anyone tried 85(B)/85(N) at all, and does it work??

Theres some Gibsons with that combo in...im thinking of the shred x series *Id kill for the explorer but it costs(ed) a fortune* and that has a 85/85 combo goin'.

Im using the bridge 81 neck 85 in 2 of mine.

I've got an Ltd M-350

Its currently 81(b)/85(n)

To be honest, i play guitar when i can, but i'm a bassist, and picked this guitar up cheap as a project that needed parts/electronics sourced and installed

Its here as something for me to play/write on and for clients to use when recording if their guitars or for a better sound when playing leads

I know that the M-series comes with 81/81 as a standard

to be honest, i don't know what setup i should really be aiming to use for best production quality and general use...

I've got an Ibanez SZ with the 85 in the bridge and the 81 in the neck.

I have played around with both in both positions. While I do like both in the bridge, I don't like the 85 in the neck. Too stuffy-sounding in there for my taste.

I think 81 in the neck sounds really damn good in the neck for leads. Super clear-sounding and super cutting.

I would really like to try a 60A in the neck because I'd prefer something a bit more traditional-sounding for cleans.